Saturday, August 6, 2011

The Carrie Diaries- Candace Bushnell


The Carrie Diaries – Candace Bushnell

Pages: 400

Published: 2011 Balza & Bray

Date Finished: 7th August 2011

Rating: 2.5 Stars

Recommend it: For people who want light Y.A fiction with no intense plot. Fans of Sex in the City and Candace Bushnell.

I must admit, I am a late bloomer to Candace Bushnell and the T.V series Sex in The City. I grew up with my mother always telling me how shit the program was so it was hard at first to pick up this book without her words resounding in my head. I love the T.V Series, but I hate to say my mother’s words have some truth to them and I heard the old ‘I told you so’ while I read The Carrie Diaries.


Before Carrie Bradshaw hit the big time in the City, she was a regular girl growing up in the suburbs of Connecticut. How did she turn into one of the most-read social observers of our generation?

The Carrie Diaries opens up in Carrie's senior year of high school. She and her best friends -- Walt, Lali, Maggie, and the Mouse -- are inseparable, amid the sea of Jens, Jocks and Jets. And then Sebastian Kydd comes into the picture. Sebastian is a bad boy-older, intriguing, and unpredictable. Carrie falls into the relationship that she was always supposed to have in high school-until a friend's betrayal makes her question everything. With her high school days coming to a close, Carrie will realize it's finally time to go after everything she ever wanted.

Rabid fans of Sex and the City will love seeing Carrie Bradshaw evolve from a regular girl into a sharp, insightful writer. They'll learn about her family background -- how she found her writing voice, and the indelible impression her early friendships and relationships left on her. We'll see what brings Carrie to her beloved New York City, where the next Carrie Diaries book will take place – Synopsis


Never judge a book by its cover is a lesson I need to learn and overcome and one I believe I will take from reading this novel. I won’t say that I disliked the book in its entirety, but it feels pretty darn flat for me and the times I found enjoyment from it were few and far between. It was disappointing and incredibly hard to get into. It took me a good hallway through the novel to get into the grove with her writing style and that frustrated me.

There were times when I did enjoy Carrie, and I liked it when she talked about writing and what it meant to her and her memory of mother and reading. I just wish it had of delved more into her as a developing writer rather than her turmoils of being a teenager. I got it, and understood it and even laughed a number of times, especially nearing the end.

To me this novel didn’t raise any real intense issues and I think I was hoping for a different novel. I don’t want to say it is a bad book, because it wasn’t burn it now terrible, but it wasn’t my cup of tea. I think people who appreciate Candace as a writer and enjoy the show would enjoy this and for sure pick it up if you want a light read.


Post a Comment